My mission: eat local

Hello and welcome to this month-long journalism project focusing on eating local in Washington state’s Wenatchee Valley.

My name is Dominick Bonny, I am a reporter at the Wenatchee Business Journal and during the month of September I will only be eating local foods. The definition of local varies depending who you speak with and that is a subject I will examine later, but for now I will define local as anything produced in Washington state.

I will focus on cost, convenience and time consumption.

Highlighting local businesses, stores, shops, farms and fruit stands will be an integral part of this blog and the health effects of eating local will also be an important part of this story.

I’ll also include recipes and pictures of interesting ways to prepare and eat local fare.

The blog’s title is a play on the title of the book, “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” by Michael Pollen, which is an interesting and informative read about food production in America.

Over the course of this project I will attempt to answer questions such as: What constitutes “local food”? Is eating organic truly better for you? And, where do the things we eat come from?

At the end of the month I will compile the most informative facts and findings, quotes and sources and write a report that will then be printed in next month’s edition of the Wenatchee Business Journal.

I hope you’ll follow my progress, enjoy it and offer your advice and support during this culinary quest.

4 responses to “My mission: eat local

  1. This is so exciting! If you need help with eating the food, call me šŸ™‚

    You’ll be great at this and if I can help in anyway, let me know, as my family homesteaded here.

    Oh and I added this blog to my google reader.

  2. Sounds great! Can’t wait to read it!!

  3. Haha. Thanks Caitlin, I will! We should grill up some burgers next week! I’m going up to Winthrop on Wednesday to check out an organic farm but the rest of my week is open.

  4. Hi,
    I enjoyed meeting you today and think this is great. I look forward to reading your article – keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

